Three truths

I chose this from a question Lewis Howes asks of the interviewees during his podcast.  It is asking what that persons “Three Truths” are.  I explain a bit better below.  

I often listen to Lewis’ podcasts when I am travelling. Lewis interviews all sorts of people in his “School of Greatness” podcasts.  I find they make me think.  I really enjoy hearing the stories of people who others tend to look up to, and what has inspired and driven those people to achieve what they have achieved.  One of the last questions during the interviews are about the “three truths”.  (Check it out – Lewis Howes School of Greatness). 

I think about what I think are three truths to what I would want imparted to people if everything I had completed/achieved up to this point was erased, and you had to describe three truths to impart to others before you were gone from the earth.  (I don’t think I have directly translated this question correctly, but I think you get the idea.)

The first truth- choose love.  Always choose love. I think this can be one of the hardest choices.  Choose to love yourself.  And choose to love others.  

Another truth-we grow up into adults that often are scared to play, or don’t take time to.  Choose to laugh and play.  I don’t know about you, but I often have a hard time allowing myself the time to do this.  Yet any time spent doing this is joyous.  

The last truth that I think about is what is the truth in my world.  The most important things that I do in life or that I value is not the titles that have been on my business cards.  It is the people in my life.  It is the times I have spent with those people ,and even the time I spend by myself.  What is really important to my well being.  

In quilting.  Wow. Three truths.  Press.  Take the time to press.  I have allowed this to become a zen time for me too, but press.  Some of that joy can come from your friends giving you a fun ironing board cover to expand your adventure or make yourself one from some fun fabric so you smile whenever you see it.  Ironing board covers

One of the other truths I think about is to ese some of that fabric you love.  I have lots of fabric that I think needs to age before I use it.  You may have some of that also.   It’s kind of like fine wine.  It becomes more special.  However some fabric is like bad wine you let age.  You open it up and wonder what ever possessed you to purchase it as you no longer love it. That doesn’t suit your tastes any more. 

You may love that particular print with its squiggles in a pretty blue.  Or that batik that makes you sigh. Make something fun for yourself with it. Like a fun pincushion that you giggle and your heart feels warmer when you use it.  There will be more amazing fabric that you will love too.  I just had a better idea.  Make something wonderful for someone you love.  You will be giving of yourself in more ways because of it. The recipient really gets a part of you for they now have a wonderful gift from you, with something you love in it.  Below are all fabrics I love. 

The third truth that I think about with respect to quilting is that you may not love the whole process, but the most important thing is to try. And sometimes finishing something you have started can be satisfying in its own way (finished is warm).  You can choose to try to push your way through your least favourite part of the process (choose to love)  ha ha.  Or, you can do a swap with a friend by doing something for them that they don’t enjoy (maybe blocking a quilt, helping with layout, helping cut out fabric) in exchange for them binding your quilt.  Or vice versa.  There is always cash quilting as well.  Paying someone to quilt those quilt tops for you that are sitting neatly stacked in your studio, waiting patiently for their turn to shine.  

If you absolutely can’t finish something you have started, then let it have wings and maybe donate it to a group or a recycle centre that it could be used in someone else’s project.  

These are all pretty simple truths.  What would your three truths be?  

Leave a Reply

